Monday, March 15, 2010

Antony files papers for Rajya Sabha polls

Congress leader and Defence Minister A.K. Antony on Monday filed his nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha elections. He filed three sets of nomination papers for the lone seat that the United Democratic Front can win before Legislature Secretary P.D. Rajan, who is the returning. Each set of papers was signed by ten MLAs each.

A large contingent of UDF leaders, including Leader of the Opposition Oommen Chandy, Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee president Ramesh Chennithala, IUML leader P.K. Kunhalikutty, Kerala Congress(M) leader K.M. Mani, UDF convener P.P. Thankachan, and CMP leader M.V. Raghavan were present to receive Mr. Antony when he arrived at the Assembly complex. After filing his nomination papers, Mr. Antony called on Speaker K. Radhakrishnan.

Mr. Antony is seeking re-election for a fourth term. Earlier he was Rajya Sabha member from 1985 to 91, 1991-95 and 2005-2010.

No comments:

Amazon Contextual Product Ads